You are visiting - copyright © 2009 to 2017   All rights reserved                                                                                                       Home |  Terms of use  |  Datafiles  |  Contact us

Globalshift Limited -                                                                        is as up-to-date as possible but some information may not be the most recent available

Contact Us



Political Group


Location of Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium

Population of the group: 510 million     


The centre of the European oil industry

Brief description of the group

Land area (sq kms)

Oil prod (000s b/d)

Gas prod (bcm/yr)

Oil cons (000s b/d)

Gas cons (bcm/yr)

More numbers Statistics

Low-Cost Spreadsheets

Buy Excel files - histories and forecasts of production and wells split into any category for all countries and regions

Datafiles Review files






The EU operates through decisions made by the European Parliament (elected every 5 years by EU citizens), European Council, Council of the EU, European Commission, Court of Justice, European Central Bank and Court of Auditors.

A single market has been created through laws that apply in all states with some opt-outs. Through the Common Foreign and Security Policy, the EU also has a role in external relations and defence.

The euro (€) has been the currency of the Eurozone since 2002 (used by 19 of 28 member states and overseas territories, the institutions of the EU, and 6 other European countries).

The EU maintains diplomatic missions throughout the world and represents itself in global organisations such as the UN.

Members and year of joining:

Belgium (1967)

France (1967)

  French Guiana, Guadeloupe,

  Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion,

  St Martin

Germany (1967)

Italy (1967)

Luxembourg (1967)

Netherlands (1967)

Denmark (1973)

  Greenland  (left 1985)

Ireland (1973)

United Kingdom (1973)

(2017 application to leave)


Greece (1981)

Portugal (1986)

  The Azores, Madeira

Spain (1986)

  The Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla

Austria (1995)

Finland (1995)

  The Aland Islands

Sweden (1995)

Cyprus (2004)

Czechia (2004)

Estonia (2004)

Hungary (2004)

Latvia (2004)

Lithuania (2004)

Malta (2004)

Poland (2004)

Slovak Republic (2004)

Slovenia (2004)

Bulgaria (2007)

Romania (2007)

Croatia (2013)


Vertical axis in chart corresponds to thousands of barrels of oil equivalent per day.

Oil -  fossil oil produced from on and offshore reservoirs, including tight sands/shales; and liquids extracted from gas.

Gas - sales gas produced from on and offshore reservoirs, including tight sands/shales and coal beds.O

Full breakdowns are available in datafiles.

Vertical axis in chart corresponds to number of wells spudded in year including stand-alone sidetracks.

Wells in chart include those drilled in exploratory and development categories for oil and gas, but excluding CBM.

Full breakdowns are available in datafiles.

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 countries in Europe plus Cyprus (defined here as being in the Middle East). A single market and free trade were the core objectives but much greater union has now been established.

The EU originated from the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and the European Economic Community (EEC) in 1951 and 1958 respectively, formed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany .

The first treaty was signed in Brussels in 1967 after which 22 further countries joined over several years. The Schengen Area, created in 1985, removed passport controls in most member (and some non-member) states. In 1993 The Maastricht Treaty established the EU name and introduced citizenship. Monetary union began in 2002 with 19 states now using the Euro.

EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital, enact legislation in justice and home affairs, and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries, and regional development. The Union was rocked in 2016 when the UK voted to leave in a referendum.