You are visiting - copyright © 2009 to 2017   All rights reserved                                                                                                       Home |  Terms of use  |  Datafiles  |  Contact us

Globalshift Limited -                                                                        is as up-to-date as possible but some information may not be the most recent available

Contact Us



The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organization, first established in 1961 as the Association of Southeast Asia (ASA) by the Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand. ASEAN was formed in 1967 with Indonesia and Singapore included. Membership has now expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam.

ASEAN’s aims are to accelerate growth, social progress and cultural development, to promote regional stability, to provide internal assistance in training and research facilities, to collaborate for the better utilisation of agriculture and industry and to promote Southeast Asian studies.

It also provides a mechanism for member countries to resolve differences peacefully and co-operate with existing international organisations with similar aims and purposes.

The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) was established in 1992 but ASEAN is generally a looser association than the EU, stressing respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, and national identity of all member nations.

Political Group


Location of Secretariat: Jakarta, Indonesia

Population of the group: 625 million     


A founder and the richest member of ASEAN

Brief description of the group

Land area (sq kms)

Oil prod (000s b/d)

Gas prod (bcm/yr)

Oil cons (000s b/d)

Gas cons (bcm/yr)

More numbers Statistics

Low-Cost Spreadsheets

Buy Excel files - histories and forecasts of production and wells split into any category for all countries and regions

Datafiles Review files






ASEAN is built on the Political-Security Community (APSC), the  Economic Community (AEC) and the Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC). The ASEAN Charter of 2008 provides a legal and institutional framework, codifying rules, values and targets.

The organisation holds meetings, known as ASEAN Summits, annually where heads of government meet to discuss and resolve regional issues. Member nations are assigned to be summit host in alphabetical order.

Members and year of joining:

Indonesia (1967)

Malaysia (1967)

Philippines (1967)

Singapore (1967)

Thailand (1967)

Papua New Guinea (Observer, 1976)

Vietnam (1995)

Laos (1997)

Myanmar (1997)

Cambodia (1999)

Timor Leste (Observer, 2011)


Vertical axis in chart corresponds to thousands of barrels of oil equivalent per day.

Oil -  fossil oil produced from on and offshore reservoirs, including tight sands/shales; and liquids extracted from gas.

Gas - sales gas produced from on and offshore reservoirs, including tight sands/shales and coal beds.O

Full breakdowns are available in datafiles.

Vertical axis in chart corresponds to number of wells spudded in year including stand-alone sidetracks.

Wells in chart include those drilled in exploratory and development categories for oil and gas, but excluding CBM.

Full breakdowns are available in datafiles.