You are visiting - copyright © 2009 to 2017   All rights reserved                                                                                                       Home |  Terms of use  |  Datafiles  |  Contact us

Globalshift Limited -                                                                        is as up-to-date as possible but some information may not be the most recent available

Contact Us



Land area (sq kms)

Oil prod (000s b/d)

Gas prod (bcm/yr)

Oil cons (000s b/d)

Gas cons (bcm/yr)

More numbers Statistics






Kyrgyzstan (the Kyrgyz Republic) is a land-locked country bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest, and China to the east.

Scythians settled around 500 BC followed by Kyrgyz migrants from Siberia in 200 BC along the Silk Road. The Kyrgyz defeated the Uyghurs of Mongolia in 840 AD but in 1207 they became part of the Mongol Empire. In the 1390s tribal rulers took over until 1685 when the Mongolians returned. Annexed by the Chinese Qing Dynasty in the 18th century and then by the Uzbeks of Kokand in the 19th it was incorporated into the Russian Empire in 1876 by treaty with China.

Now known as Kirgizia, rebellion in 1916 and the revolution in Russia in 1917 brought the Soviets to power. The Kara-Kyrgyz Oblast was formed in 1924, replaced by the Kirghiz SSR in 1936. It achieved independence in 1991 despite a popular vote to stay in the Soviet federation. In 2005 an uprising (the Tulip Revolution) led to a change in government preceding political instability. Ethnic riots broke out out in 2010 and Russia tightened security whilst many local Uzbeks fled. The country continues to endure transitional government and ethnic conflict. It has a troubled economy dependent on agriculture and mineral resources.

Kyrgyzstan is land-locked and mountainous with all its rivers flowing into a closed drainage system. The Tian Shan mountain range covers over 80% of the country.

The remainder is made up of narrow valleys and basins, the most important being the Fergana Valley, cut by tributaries of the Syr Darya River which once flowed into the Aral Sea. Here the ancient town of Osh is located at the border of Uzbekistan.

The highest peaks are in the Kakshaal-Too range, forming the Chinese border. The Jengish Chokusu mountain, at 7,439m, is the highest point. The country contains significant deposits of metals including gold in its mountainous regions.  

The country overlies a small part of the inter-montane Fergana Basin in the Fergana Valley on the border with Uzbekistan. Oil production began from here in 1947 followed by marketed gas production in 1958.

However, output has never reached significant volumes and there are few areas remaining to explore. Globalshift believes that some minor new oil and gas production from old fields such as Chigirgek is possible as foreign investment helps the country to improve its infrastructure but unrest since 2010 has curtailed most activity.

Geography, and oil and gas summary

KYRGYZSTAN - Map and National Flag

Low-Cost Spreadsheets

Buy Excel files - histories and forecasts of production and wells split into any category for all countries and regions

Datafiles Review files

E and P

News Briefs


Capital: Bishkek

Population: 5.4 million     

Kyrgyzstan is a parliamentary representative democratic republic. The President is head of state elected for one 6-year term. The Prime Minister, chosen by parliament, is head of government and a cabinet. Parliament has been unicameral since 2005. It is called the Supreme Council (Jogorku Keņesh) and consists of an elected 90-seat Legislative Assembly (Myizam Chygaruu Jyiyny).

The oil and gas industry is overseen by the Ministry of Energy and Industry. Chinese companies and Gazprom are the main investors.


Metal trunks

Brief history of the country

Central Asia

Kyrgyzstan Government and NOCs